The Collegiate Cooker’s Cornish Game Hens

Baby Girl started a blog!
This summer she has been getting ready for her second year of college and collecting things for her new apartment, including some of my easy recipes that she can make in her first kitchen.  A few weeks ago  she said, “I should write a blog about cooking in college.  It could include what you need for your first kitchen and recipes to get college kids cooking and eating fresh food. “

I was super excited because this was my newfound area of expertise and I could show my daughter all I’ve learned about blogging.
It was exactly one day before her blog was published, she was showing me how to do things on blog editing, and she had more Likes on her Facebook page than I did on mine.
Come on people….help me out here!

I NEED TO PROVE TO MY DAUGHTER
THAT I CAN DO THIS SOCIAL MEDIA THING
SO CLICK HERE TO GO TO MY FACEBOOK PAGE
AND SHARE WITH YOUR FRIENDS!

images-2

Getting over my major fail with being the cool mom who knows about blogging and Facebook, I headed back to the kitchen.  I tried to think about my earliest cooking attempts and what recipes I repeated.  Cornish game hen came to mind.

Cornish game hens are basically just small chickens.  They are easy to manage because of their size, you can keep them in the freezer so they are always on-hand, and one hen is perfect for a dinner for two.  Baby Girl and I bought some hens and went to work preparing a dish with few ingredients that would satisfy hungry college students wanting a home-cooked meal.

Baby Girl preparing hens for the oven.

Baby Girl preparing hens for the oven.

Jam is always a good trick.  Sweet, inexpensive and keeps all year long in the refrigerator.  We decided on apricot.
Mustard offers a lot of bang for little effort.
Soy (or Tamari) sauce is great for salty flavor.
And everything is better with butter.

Image

The Collegiate Cooker is on her way to blogging fame.  Okay, go ahead and Like her page too.
I’ll just keep plugging along in the kitchen.

“You don’t have to know me to Like me.”  -Cynthia Spivey

*****

Collegiate Cooker’s Cornish Game Hens

2 cornish game hens, cut lengthwise in half
1/4 cup apricot preserves
1 T dijon mustard
1 T soy or tamari sauce
2 T butter

Put split hens skin side up in baking pan.
Stir together other ingredients in a measuring cup and microwave for 1 minute or until hot.  Mix well and spoon or brush over hens.
Save some sauce in the cup to spoon over the hens after they have cooked for about 30 minutes.
Bake in 350-degree oven for 45-55 minutes or until juices run clear when stabbed with a fork*.
Remove from oven and spoon the sauce from the bottom of the pan over the hens.
Let rest 5 minutes or more and serve.
If you have any leftovers, cold hens are perfect for lunch!

Note:  The best way to test whether poultry is done is to use a meat thermometer.  If you will be cooking meat and poultry a lot, it is worth purchasing one.  Otherwise, the stab method works most of the time.

*****

5 comments

  1. hollyejacobs873 · · Reply

    GREAT! xxx h PS – One hint is when linking to another blog, have it open in a new page. This way people can go back to your blog easily. xoxo

    Hollye Jacobs, RN, MS, MSW hollye@thesilverpen.com http://www.thesilverpen.com twitter.com/hollyejacobs

    Like

    1. Great hint! Now if I can just figure out how to do that…I guess I can ask The Collegiate Cooker 🙂

      Like

  2. Lynn Ziglar · · Reply

    My granddaughter, 14, just tied into blog Tumblr…am trying to find in my non tech world of amazement. Chicken is a winner.

    Like

  3. Love the simplicity of this recipe. Can’t wait to try it!

    Like

    1. Thanks Sherri! And thank you for reading.

      Like

Leave a Reply

