Fisherboy’s Fresh Fish

Fisherboy loves to go fishing.  That is fairly obvious from his nickname.
But this is not just a normal hobby that a boy likes to do.   I mean, he REALLY loves to go fishing.

Plenty of fresh catch to feed us all.

Fisherboy’s catch of the day.

He gets up at 5am, while on vacation, to spend all day catching, or not catching, because the fish aren’t always biting.  We do love eating fresh fish…but 5am?  Not for me.  Or Baby Girl.  But when our friend Matthew the Fisherboy goes off to fish, Baby Girl and I get ready for some cooking.  And now that we know the foolproof secret to fish on the stove, the cooking is simple and the results are delicious.

Fisherboy and his catch of the day.

From ocean to pan requires some work.

 I used to try and cook fish…I really did…because Baby Girl is a lover of fish.  But more times than not, my lovely fish would get all stuck to the bottom of the pan or grill and I would end up with a dry and unattractive offering. One simple cooking tip from chef extraordinaire Maili Halme (click here for Maili’s blog) has changed my world when it comes to fish.

 Fisherboy showed up recently with fish to feed the family and Baby Girl asked me how we should cook it.   Just the week before, I had cooked with Maili and she showed me the method of cooking fish she learned long ago from a chef in Hawaii.  This was to be the trial run. Maili taught me to coat the fish in oil and use a dry pan.  I have seen her use grapeseed oil and I have used olive oil or safflower oil but the key is to put the oil on the fish, NOT in the pan.  A nonstick pan works best and it must be dry.  No oil in the pan.  Not a drop!

Baby Girl can cook!

Baby Girl can cook!

Baby Girl mastered the fish on the first try.  She was proud.  I am happy.  I have a fish source and I have a fish cook.  We are having a tasty summer!

“The charm of fishing is that it is the pursuit of what is elusive but attainable,
a perpetual series of occasions for hope.”  -John Buchan

*****

Fisherboy’s Fresh Fish

2-3 pounds fresh fish (sea bass, yellowtail, shark, red snapper)
2-3 T grapeseed, olive or safflower oil
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
Lemon zest and olive oil to serve

Cut fish into portions 6-8 oz each.
Pour oil, salt and pepper over fish and rub all over both sides of each portion.
Heat pan to medium high heat and place fish in dry, hot pan.
Leave for at least a minute or two depending on thickness of fish.  Wait until you see the bottom 1/3 of the fish turning white and the corners getting a little browned before you check.  This could take up to 5 minutes if the fish is really thick.  Turn the heat down if it seems to be getting too brown.
Slide a thin spatula under the fish and it should easily release from the pan so you can flip it over.  It should have a nice light brown crust.
Cook for about the same time on the second side as you did the first.
Remove the fish from the pan to a plate to rest.
Drizzle olive oil over each piece and sprinkle lemon zest on top.

*****

13 comments

  1. Your just living the dream… So yummy, guess its time for me to look into move back to the west coast 🙂 In the meantime I think they should come visit me and cook for 305!

    Like

    1. I agree! West Coast is calling…..xoxo

      Like

  2. hollyejacobs873 · · Reply

    Fabulous!!!! Xxx

    Hollye Jacobs, RN, MS, MSW http://www.TheSilverPen.com Twitter @hollyejacobs

    Like

    1. Thanks Hollye! xo

      Like

  3. Laura Macker Johnston · · Reply

    Wow! Thank you for this! I am going to try this weekend. I am really enjoying your blog, C. xoxoxoLaura

    Like

  4. Thanks Laura! Let me know if it works for you. xo

    Like

  5. Fabulous post! Will be trying this out when my boy gets home from his trip!
    Txs Cynthia…🐟Susan

    Like

    1. Thank you Susan! Hope your boy loves it. xoxo

      Like

  6. Simple and sublime! Yum! Thank you and love your blog, Frances

    Like

    1. Thank you Frances. Simple is the way to go in my book. xoxo

      Like

  7. Delicious and sounds simple. I know my fish lovers are going to enjoy!

    xo
    Brooke

    Like

    1. Thank you Brooke. Welcome to The Water Is Smiling!

      Like

  8. […] Add oil to large heated pan and sauté onions about 3 minutes or until soft.  Add garlic and cilantro and stir until cilantro is completely wilted.  Add water, cream, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes to pan and simmer for 5-7 minutes.  Remove from heat and let sit 5 minutes then puree in blender.  The sauce is very thin and light so can be served in a large pour over mild grilled fish.  For a how-to on grilling fish, go to Fisherboy’s Fresh Fish. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

